Dangerous Friends (book 4)
A Carlos McCrary, Private Investigator, Mystery Thriller

There’s one born every minute…
Dangerous Friends cover for book page

College freshman Michelle Babcock only wants to protect the earth when she joins a campus environmental club. Save the planet, right? What could possibly go wrong?

Instead, she’s sucked into a fanatical cabal led by her boyfriend, James Ponder, a graduate student obsessed with protesting global warming. Ponder’s protests mask his secret agenda that yields him millions of dollars from government corruption.

Caught in a web of ecoterrorism

Michelle wakes me with a 4:30 a.m. phone call, desperate for help. Her enviro-Nazi boyfriend has lured her into an environmental terrorist attack that murdered two people. Now the naïve student faces a lifetime in prison unless I can find her a way out.

Follow the money

I unravel a conspiracy involving arson, murder, and the Chicago mafia. A mysterious millionaire has masterminded a string of mega-million-dollar stock market scams that reach back for years. The mastermind begins to cut his losses by murdering anyone who might lead the cops back to him. And his targets include my innocent client Michelle and her nosy private investigator, me.

Perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Elvis Cole, Matt Kile, and Robert B. Parker’s Spenser, this mystery thriller will draw you in and refuse to let go.

Quotes from Dangerous Friends:

I make it a policy never to argue with people who are pointing a gun at me. Especially nervous, twitchy, crazy people.
...
“If you don’t toot your own horn, there will be no music.”
...
“They sent only three shooters after me. It’s practically an insult.”
...
Howard chuckled. “I got a captain like that too. He’s tight as a pair of two-dollar shoes.”
...
Snoop Snopolski: “I’m not lazy; I crave efficiency of movement.”

Dangerous Friends, published in September 2015, has received 28 reader reviews with 4.5 average stars on Amazon as of 21 August 2020. Read Reviews...

Dangerous Friends Free Sneak Peak
This book is on Kindle and Paperback. Printed paperback books are an ideal gift for a friend who likes to read.

Take a look at the other Carlos McCrary Thrillers: